Oklahoma state law uses a variety of criteria to determine if an incident involving physical violence can be classified as domestic abuse. For instance, the victim must generally be the abuser’s spouse, parent or child. However, the victim may also be anyone who the abuse perpetrator has dated or who lives in the same house as the perpetrator. If a person causes bodily harm to a foster parent or anyone else who he or she is related to by marriage, that could be considered domestic abuse.
The Oklahoma Protection from Domestic Abuse Act can be used to help victims seek recourse against their abusers. If an individual disobeys a protection order, he or she may be taken into custody by authorities. If necessary, an individual can apply for an emergency protective order. This order is typically in effect for a few days or until a judge can determine whether a permanent order should be put into place.
Those who violate a temporary or permanent order could face a fine of up to $1,000 or spend up to a year in jail for a first offense. For a second offense, an individual could be fined up to $10,000 and spend up to three years in prison. Penalties could be increased if a person violates the order by causing physical harm to a victim.
A person who has been charged with domestic assault could face significant legal penalties such as jail time or a fine. In addition, that individual’s reputation may be diminished within the community. This means that it may be harder to find a job or to run a successful business. An attorney may be able to help an individual obtain an acquittal or a favorable plea deal.