If you are pulled over for a DUI or DWI in Oklahoma, the consequences might not stop at fines or jail time. Your driver’s’ license co-uld be at risk.
What are the consequences for your license after a DUI?
Anyone who chooses to drink and drive makes a very costly mistake. Not only does it put yourself and others at risk for bodily harm, it could seriously impact your future. A DUI or a DWI could set you back thousands of dollars or even result in jail time.
The following are general consequences for your drivers’ license if you are convicted of a DUI or DWI:
- If your valid license is seized after arrest: The DPS may issue you a 30-day temporary license. After that, you cannot drive until your license is reinstated. Invalid licenses are not returned.
- If you refuse to take a blood or breath test: Your license is automatically suspended for 30 days.
- If it is your first DUI offense: Your license will be revoked for six months.
- If it is your second DUI offense within 10 years: Your license will be revoked for one year.
- If it is your third DUI offense within 10 years: Your license will be revoked for three years.
If you want or need to drive within the revocation period, you may be able to do so. You would need to petition to have your license modified to reflect your charges. In addition, you will need to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed and take a breath test every time you get behind the wheel.
Can you expunge a DUI from your driving record?
A DUI is a complicated charge. It will be reflected in a variety of ways on various records.
- When you are arrested for a DUI, the arrest goes on the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.
- When the officer seizes your license, that is marked on your driving record.
- When you go to court, that is added to the court record.
- If you are charged, that becomes your criminal record.
Expungement is possible but expensive and time-sensitive. If you are concerned about how a DUI will affect your driving privileges, you should explore your legal options.